Tuesday, 31 May 2011

Kerrera from Oban

Kerrera from Oban
I really should pay more attention to the scenery from Oban

Monday, 30 May 2011

Poppies

Poppies 1/3
Amazing that this poppy and the others, yet to flower, survived the storms.

Growing well this year.

Sunday, 29 May 2011

Dandelion

Dandelion test
hiding at home because of the weather,  so here's an older pix

Thursday, 26 May 2011

Storm bound trees

Storm bound trees
Trees blowing in the soggy gales taken through the misted window of the van

Wednesday, 25 May 2011

May 2011- the big storm

Loch Linnhe storm 3/4
Unbelievably bad storm for this time of year.  This is Loch Linnhe near to Fort William and these are the yachts on the moorings.

Hail, gales, rain.  Snow on the top of the Ben.

Trees down and roads closed on Monday 23 May.

Thank goodness this is a rare event and May is usually a very good month to visit.

Sunday, 22 May 2011

Lord of the Isles, Clansman, Finlaggan

Lord of the Isles, Clansman, Finlaggan
Lord of the Isles escorting Finlaggan through the Sound of Mull towards Oban as she arrives from Gdansk.   Clansman greeted them in the usual fashion and Isle of Mull was just leaving Oban to head in their direction.

Unique moment!  something I'll never see again.

Friday, 20 May 2011

Rain

Rain
a good reason to sit in the nice warm greenhouse for coffee. It did sound like I was sitting inside a drum during the hail storm though.

Roll on summer part II

Thursday, 19 May 2011

Tug Holland in Oban

Tug Holland in Oban 1/4
currently cruising west coast of Scotland from Oban & Greenock.

Historic Dutch tug that appears to be an annual visitor for a short season here.

Wednesday, 18 May 2011

Ben Nevis Challenge

Ben Nevis Challenge 4/4
Ben Nevis Challenge 1911-2011.

Model T Ford to the top of Ben Nevis.  1 of  4 photographs of various cars on one of the tours held this week.

Tuesday, 17 May 2011

Loch Sunart

Loch Sunart 2/3
Looking down Loch Sunart after days and days of rain.  Nice morning!

Monday, 16 May 2011

Kingairloch road

Kingairloch road 4/5
After the brilliant sunshine we had at the beginning of the month, it hasn't stopped raining for days.

I took a trip along the Kingairloch road and began to wonder if it was wise-  no cars from the other direction.  Was there a tree down or had there been a rockfall?


No, I think on this occasion it was just the weather but it was still beautiful and the mist gave it extra effect.

Friday, 13 May 2011

Loch Sunart- test images 1/3

Loch Sunart- test images 1/3
Testing out the new camera at the head of Loch Sunart.

different settings... completely different results. Steep learning curve here, me thinks.

Image 1 (this image) was mostly automatic.

Wednesday, 11 May 2011

Aquilegia

Aquilegia
trying out new camera

(note the time recorded is 12 hours later than it really was)

Sunday, 8 May 2011

Snail family

Snail family
not sure that we want these in the garden but there are certainly lots of them this year.

Thursday, 5 May 2011

Feeding young

Feeding young 3/7
lots of food in the garden for nesting birds

Wednesday, 4 May 2011

Tuesday, 3 May 2011

Sunday, 1 May 2011

Morven rock

Morven rock 6/7
other views if you click through the photo to Flickr.

I've been amazed by this rock ever since I first saw it.  Now people are building little piles of rocks alongside (what on earth are they called again?)